Past and Present, Fast Forward

It is as if my head is a gangway filled with dozens or even hundreds of cars in one, huddling moment; a suffocated, tiny organ exceeded with flood of ideas breaching its capacity. From life to love, from fright to audacity.

A shower could not wipe the tension nor it couldn’t soothe down the stress. A glass of apple juice, an excessive amount of jokes, pictures, videos, or music were also unable to rally their strength in meaning in order to clear off the mind – my mind.

“A walk might (probably) help.”

And then a mid-night walk it is. Accompanied by a song from hyukoh (혁오) entitled Gondry, I stepped out of my disorganized room. When you decided to carry on and scroll through this article, I suggest you do it while listening to the piece that kept me going forward:

https://soundcloud.com/ntsry/hyukoh_gondry

As I was adoring the night scent of the City, I recall my long gone habit of night drive touring the city of Yogyakarta; a personal, quiet, tranquil, yet emotional habit I used to have. A habit that I rediscover tonight, here in Manchester.

So I strolled around the City. Well, to be completely honest and fair, I strolled a fraction of the city started from the Oxford Road and all the way to the Salford Central Station. I stepped my foot in rhythm, in a soft, unhurried pace so that I could locate the gallant side of Manchester at night. I wanted to enjoy Manchester as much as I loved the gleaming night radiance of Yogyakarta – tonight, I wanted to fall in love with Manchester even for just a couple of minutes.

And here are some “identities” that the City have and that the City decided to reveal before me:

Manchester Oxford Road Station. Opened in 1849, rebuilt in 1960.
Manchester Oxford Road Station. Opened in 1849, rebuilt in 1960.
Formerly a train station, now an exhibition and conference center.
Formerly a train station, now an exhibition and conference center.
A leisure complex that was once a warehouse for railway goods.
A leisure complex that was once a warehouse for railway goods.
Man walking across the River Irwell Pedestrian Bridge.
Man walking across the River Irwell Pedestrian Bridge.
River Irwell Pedestrian Bridge. The bridge above the boundary between Manchester and Salford.
River Irwell Pedestrian Bridge. The bridge above the boundary between Manchester and Salford.
'1984', a novel published by George Orwell, will soon be featured in a form of ballet showcase at Palace Theatre Manchester.
‘1984’, a novel published by George Orwell, will soon be featured in a form of ballet showcase at Palace Theatre Manchester.

Some of the pictures above was taken through a bug eye souvenir I bought in Sunderland a couple a days ago. I do hope that they will deliver a calming yet astonishing experience to each one of you. My framework of thinking will not be as intriguing as I thought if no one ever knows the complex process happening inside it. And these pictures will hopefully tell you that process as McCandless once said, ‘happiness only real when shared’.

Leave a Reply

